Long Fingernails

Hello. I have very strong fingernails and they are quite long. I’m wondering if I should cut them ?
I’m new to jazz piano (and loving it) and I seem to be doing my practice drills and attempting my first jazz standard ok… however, could I do better with short nails?
Thanks
Donna

1 Like

hi. Donna and welcome! :blush: You said it right - just in my experience, having short nails

1. will help you form, curve your fingers well on the keys , not to mention “touch”
  2. will help a lot with recording as it will tap on the keys and will give you that extra sound while playing if you have longer nails
  • though all this of course depends on your choice :blush: and where you are comfortable - as long as you are not forming bad habits in playing . Happy practicing!

Thanks Kristeta
Yes, I guess I knew deep down those nails need to be short.

It doesn’t bother me to not have long nails and I don’t paint them or anything, it’s more they grow so quickly ! I think I’ve just cut them and before I know it time to get the nail clippers out again!

I can’t see me recording anything (the long nails would provide added percussion?) but a good point about curve/formation - I don’t want to get into bad habits :grin:

X

1 Like

Donna,

First, welcome! We love seeing new faces around here.

I suppose short nails would be more comfortable. I wouldn’t know, not having had long ones. One of my early memories of the piano is of my teacher cutting my nails before a lesson. (I was probably around eight years old.) She said the clicking sound irritated her.