Left hand voicings for organ

Hello,

I am a beginner.

I have practiced my 251 progressions looping around the circle of fifths with my left hand using 4 note 7 chords. I am not yet proficient with shell or rootless chords or upper structure chords.

I am wanting to play Autumn leaves with 4 note 7 chords using my left hand and the melody with my right hand on the upper console.

As I play the chord porgressions, the natural movement of the first note of the chord, usually played in some inversion, ( shown in red) seems to be lower on the bottom console of the organ. By bar 26, the sound begins to get muddy.

If I constrain the chords between the octave, it doesn’t sound right. Where would you situate the playing of the chords ?

I hope the question is clear ? Thanks in advance for taking the trouble to answer.

Welcome, Angelo! I will try to answer your questions, and yes, I think the question is clear.

I have to start by saying that the organ you’re playing, the Hammond Super Dolphin Deluxe 9822km (if I’m not mistaken) is very different from the Hammond console organs that use tonewheels. So you are going to need to use some different techniques to make it sound good, and even if you do everything perfectly it will still not give you the sound of the most widely used Hammond tonewheel organs. The best instrument is always the one you already have, so definitely keep playing! But also understand that if you want to get serious about jazz organ you will want a better instrument to help with some of the challenges you’ve already encountered.

I’ve never seen an organ like yours in person, but I did a little reading about it and one of the challenges is that the lower manual doesn’t seem to have any 4’ tones to offer. On any instrument, using chord voicings that are too low for the instrument will cause them to sound muddy, and really there are only three things you can do to make it better: