How do modes relate to a chord progression line in jazz improvisation

Hello!

I just started learning jazz improv. I’m having trouble understanding how to know what notes I can play, withiin a chord progression line.

Let’s take this example here (What Is This Thing Called Love):

I’ve annotated the various modes within each chord change. Should I be able to play the scales within those modes and have it sound good? For example, on the first chord (Gmi7b5), I can play the G locrian scale. And on the C7b9, I can play the C mixolydian scale to improvise. Is this right?

The other rule that I follow for the 2-5-1 chord progression is:

IIm7 - V7 - IMaj7

• Dm7 - G7 - CMaj7
  • You can use the m ajor scale of the I (Chord) to improvise over the section

IIm7 - V7 - non-resolving

• You can use the scale of the implied I (chord) to improvise

IIm7b5 - V7 - Imin6

• Improvise using the harmonic minor scale from the one

IMaj7 VI7 IIm7 V7 IMaj7

• Cmaj7 - A7 - Dm7 - G7 - Cmaj7
  • Use the major scale from the 1 chord with the exception of the 6th
  • Over the 6 dominant
    • 2 harmonic minor scale
      • So if in the key of C, you can use the D Harmonic Minor scale
    • 2 harmonic melodic scale

These seem like two conflicting theories and I can certainly use a bit of guidance. Thanks!

2 Likes

Hi Sean,

Awesome post here… you highlight some very important points about improvisation, and how to gain the vocabulary needed to improvise over a tune like this.

Here’s a 5-step process you can follow to learn to play over this tune:

1) Firstly, Try Not To Think Of Each Chord/Mode In Isolation

I can see that you have a good knowledge of modal harmony and you have analysed potential modes that could be used over each chord in the progression.

My first recommendation is not to think of these chord in isolation. Instead think of the bigger blocks of 25s and 251s, and also that the tune follows an AABA Form.