How about indicating fingerings on pdfs

As a beginner I find I spend a huge amount of time slowing down and repeating the videos trying to figure out fingerings. It would save so much time to have the fingerings marked on the pdfs. I realize that there are often multiple ways to finger something but at least as a place to start it would be helpful. Im also subscribed to irocku and their materials generally have the fingerings and I find Im making much faster progress as a result.

1 Like

Thanks for this suggestion @mleonard

What material are you working on exactly? ie. which course/lesson/song? I’m sure I can give you some guidance with fingering and/or provide the fingerings for the piece your are working on.

We have thousands of PDF files on PianoGroove and so adding fingering to all of them would be a monumental task.

In addition, many of the PDF files on the site are quite advanced notation and it would be difficult to add all of the fingerings without the PDFs looking extremely cluttered.

Please can you provide a screenshot of an example? So that I can see what it is you are looking for and I will try my best to incorporate this for you.

The main goal of PianoGroove’s beginner jazz lessons is to help students read and interpret lead sheets, and so I always recommend students not to become overly reliant on transcriptions or reading/playing jazz piano using 2-staff notation.

I appreciate that having the specific fingerings in notation could allow a student to more quickly recite a piece of music, but then when working from lead sheets without the fingering we would be back to square 1.

Anyhow, if you can let me know what material you are working on, I can give you some more specific guidance, as right now I’m unsure if you want fingers for a chord worksheet, a progression worksheet, or a jazz standard arrangement.

1 Like