Do you practice with a click? (metronome)

Hia . :slight_smile:

was initially looking for " Off Topic " category - though I hope this one fits under General topics :slight_smile:

So I was looking for Beginner and Intermediate jazz arrangements that I can try to learn and play today and once again, brought a smile to my face each time I would hear/listen to the arrangements and recordings here on Piano Groove.

I am not much of a fan of using the metronome when I was a student back in the uniā€¦ then 2015 came and I joined a drum community to learn drumming - where " almost " everything uses a click during practice or playing to tracksā€¦

When I started sight reading, listening to the Emily song today - I noticed that there is no option to listen to a track with a click for exampleā€¦ - on another note, have fully enjoyed listening to that track - everything was well felt - and i loved it.

So a question comes to mind about jazz players - plus knowing (is it some? or all?) jazz scores for example or lead sheets sometimes do not reveal fully how a song is played (swing, triplets etc)

I know that a jazz pianist is part pianist, part composer, and part arranger :smiley: apart from the many other skills (harmony, improvisation etc) each one possesses ā€¦

As beginner, intermediate, advance or professional jazz players,

1.do you use a click/metronome when initially learning or practising a certain jazz tune/song? or when mastering and polishing your playing?

1. is it a requirement/necessary or not? when playing jazz tunes?

would greatly appreciate your responses - based on your experience as jazz players ā€¦ Big Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Iā€™m only a beginner (6 months) but hereā€™s my answer.

I donā€™t use it for learning, but definitely use it for polishing.