What is the goal for beginners?

What is the goal?
I have now followed various lessons (Cocktail Piano Improvisation)carefully and mostly understood your explanations. If I want to develop this on my own without guidance, I come to my limits because I think I need an enormous “computing power” to implement it, especially the identification of the tones and the decision about the respective improvisation model. Therefore, I am interested in whether the goal is to be able to do this intuitively at some point or whether the goal is to increase the “computing power” in the brain in order to be able to theoretically deduce the chosen key at any time.

Hi Jochem and welcome. I have been learning for Jazz piano for 5 years. My goal is for it to become intuitive. To pick up a lead sheet and be able to play a respectable jazzy rendition. In my view it takes a lot of “computational power” to learn the complexities of jazz and the significant techniques - and to get these into your fingers so it’s intuitive. It takes significant time but my advice would be to learn the fundamentals and drills while simultaneously playing a 5 - 10 song repertoire. Use simple techniques to begin, and as you build the techniques in your drills, they will more and more begin to intuitively come out of your fingers. Be persistent and patient but make sure you have fun unfolding this complex and beautiful language.

1 Like

Hi Rick,
thank you for your assessment. I think it’s a long way without a shortcut. Maybe like a foreign language. At some point you don’t think about grammar anymore.