joEY's practice log

Greetings!

joEY from https://musicaluniversefactory.com
practice stream on my twitch (through my website)

this sounds fun. im 36 i started playing at 13, guitars. at 18 took lessons from dr. mike petersen. doctor of composition. he’d stay 4-6 hours with me after lessons where he’d be at the keys. id say play debussy, whats that chord? what happened to classical music? hed play bartok, stravinsky, debussy, alban berg, schoenberg, charles ives. he taught me how to study and play.

he passed away. my brother passed away. i need music to survive. i am really putting myself to this. i applied for university, jazz studies, but idk they never responded. i applied to piano studio, they also gave up on me. i realized i had the maturity and all the tools to do this myself. i am now in the “music school of joEY”.

i found hayden (pianogroove) – true master! im a humble student now. this is my practice log.

MORNING: 30 minute of melodica improvisation, jamey abersold, book 1
sometimes morning has 45-60 minute breakout study if topic needs be

AFTERNOON: 2-4 hrs deeper study. pianogroove jazz foundations. diatonic 7ths. i am breaking out a little bit. taking jazz foundations but applying it to dorian. emphasizing tritone, diminished and lydian

EVENING: about twice a month “perform”, 6-10 hrs, free improv, hammond organ, mechanical electrical piano, melodica, singing, guitars. 3-5 days a week, perform 3-4 hrs, free improv, performance

last session is

its from the book Intermediate Jazz Chord Voicing for Keyboard by bill boyd. im using to supplement hayden’s 2-5-1 lesson.

my philsoophy is move as slow as possible. enjoy every moment. savor every note. use taosim & wu wui to inform my practice. trying to weaken my ambition and strengthen my resolve.

music going through my speakers r.n. is mccoy tyner enlightenment,

1 Like

Weekly update…